Hot soup for sick days.

It’s happened. I have the flu, or a cold, or a virus, I’m not sure but it’s been almost a week and I had these amazing carrots and potatoes my roommate bought me from the farmer’s market so I figured it was time for soup!

I’m not a canned soup kind of girl, well unless it’s tomato, I’m all about canned tomato soup, it’s so good!

carrotstaters

But anyway, I’m not such of a canned soup girl, too salty, too much of a weird aluminum aftertaste. I really enjoy making my own soup, there’s just something about the way it makes the whole house smell amazing, and it’s such a great award, especially if you make the soup while you’re sick.

cutcarrotstaters

So I spent my St. Patrick’s Day making some soup accompanied by Netflix and my even more sickly roommate. Splendid.

This isn’t the most amazing soup, it was whatever I had in the house, but after letting it simmer for about 45 minutes, these simple ingredients delivered. Exactly the medicine I needed.

 

SICK DAY SOUP

Ingredients:

2, 32 oz. containers of vegetable stock (or your own homemade meat or veggie stock!!)

about 2 c. of carrots (these carrots has a purple hue, purchased from the farmer’s market)

about 2 1/2 c. potatoes (also purchased from farmer’s market)

about 1 1/2 c. turnips

1 large onion

3 cloves garlic

4 tbsp. butter

paprika, pepper and salt to taste

Melt butter in large soup pot and add garlic and onions. Sweat out the onions until they are translucent then add the stock. Bring the stock to a low boil and add carrots, potatoes, and turnips. Once soup is brought to a boil again, turn heat low, add seasonings and simmer for 40-60 minutes.

soupYou can add or subtract any veggies or seasonings from my recipe, this was simple and tasteful enough to be the perfect treatment for my illness!

Stay healthy!

 

 

One thought on “Hot soup for sick days.

  1. I got REALLY sick recently and I wished I had found this earlier! I read somewhere that eating Chicken Noodle Soup helps because the salt helps level your Sodium intake. I’ll definitely try this next time!

Leave a Reply

